Playdoh

Playdoh.  I wish I could say that I was creative with it, but the truth is that I am pushing it to say that I can even make a decent snake from it.  But as I sit at the table with a bunch of little kids, I like to imagine all the possibilities that exist within this little lump of colored clayish material.   For some reason, I get this image when I read this text of the earth being empty and formless and God hovering over the waters.  Think of all the possibilities!  God could have made the earth flat but instead made it round (Sorry Kyrie Irving…it is round!).  He could have made everything in shades of gray with no color.  He could have made everything exactly the same so that the earth looked similar to a 1950’s suburban subdivision with cookie cutter houses.   Could you imagine if everything looked like (insert an ugly state name here…I chose to remain silent for fear of hatred remarks from others)?   The point is that it was empty and formless but God was right there to make creation into something glorious.  Isn’t that also what He does to us? Not that we are formless (though I do wish I had a little less apple form in my waist…that is besides the point…), but that we are often left feeling empty, without really knowing who we are or what we are there for…but there is God hovering right above us ready to fill us with His beauty, His glory, and His life.   And He makes such wonderful and beautiful things with us.

So today, think that of all the things God could have made…He made you.  Of all the things He could have filled you with…He chose to fill you with His Spirit.  You are not empty and formless….you are the image of the Living God!

Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.

Genesis 1:2

Playdoh

Leave a comment